Easy and Delicious Quinoa Recipe

A friend emailed me today and asked if I had any tips for cooking quinoa. Coincidentally, I made a delicious quinoa dish last night. I think it’s my husbands favorite dish from my repertoire, so I rotate it through often. This particular dish has sun-dried tomatoes, broccoli & cashews. To cook the quinoa, you basically make a broth with white wine, vegetable broth among other ingredients then boil the quinoa in the broth. I can’t take credit for the recipe, it’s from the Whole Foods Recipe app. The app is free for iPhone and iPad and I highly recommend getting it. Every dish I’ve made from these recipes has been delicious. In the meantime, here is the recipe for the Whole Foods Zesty Quinoa with Broccoli and Cashews:

  • 1 tbs extra virgin olive oil
  • 1/2 medium red onion, finely chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, finely chopped
  • 1/2 cup oil-packed sun-dried tomatoes, chopped
  • 1/2 cup vegetable broth
  • 1/2 cup dry white wine (I substitute with veggie broth if I don’t have a bottle of white)
  • 2 tbs lemon juice
  • 1/2 cup uncooked quinoa
  • salt to taste
  • 1 cup small broccoli florets
  • pepper to taste
  • 1/2 cup roasted cashew pieces
  • 2 green onions thinly sliced

Heat oil over medium heat in a medium pot. Ann onions and garlic and cook for 3 minutes. Add tomatoes, broth, wine and lemon juice and bring to a boil. Stir in quinoa and salt. Reduce heat and simmer, covered for 20 minutes.

Arrange broccoli on top of quinoa, cover and simmer for an additional 5 to 6 minutes. Remove from heat and toss gently to combine. Season with salt and pepper, transfer to plates and serve garnished with cashews and green onions.

 

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 6 other followers

More Method Wellness

