How Often Should You Get a Facial?

I’ll admit it, I love the deal sites like Groupon or Living Social. But my favorite is Lifebooker, specifically, Lifebooker Loot. They often have discounted facials and I often take advantage. Today was one of those days. I was super excited to try this new spa but that quickly faded. The esthetician began to talk and talk and talk. She asked me the last time I had a facial and I said about six weeks ago (I estimated wrong, it was really 13 weeks ag0) and she was really rude about it. She started lecturing me about having facials too often and ruining my skin, challenging me about why I thought I needed a facial. She actually made me feel bad about making an appointment with her. Let me be clear, there was nothing harsh going on here… a mask, some lotion, some extractions (yes, I’m in the pro-extraction camp). We’re not talking dermabrasion or chemical peel here. In her (not so humble) opinion, women need facials about every 3 months. This was in direct contrast to everything else I’ve heard. So I did some research…

After Googling “how often should you get a facial” it turns out that my lovely esthetician was wrong. Here are links to the first three articles that came up: About.com, Blogher.com, and Yahoo Answers. All three say 4 – 6 weeks is ideal since it takes about 30 days for your skin to regenerate. About.com goes into a little more detail about how skin type and environment can further determine frequency. They say living in an urban environment like NYC can make your skin even more dirty meaning you should stay closer to 4 weeks in between appointments. This is in-line what other estheticians have told me in the past.

So I’m going to start looking on my deal sites for another facial voucher to use in about a month – at a different spa!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 6 other followers

More Method Wellness

