Best of BlogHer ’11

I had the opportunity to attend the annual BlogHer conference in San Diego recently. On top of meeting lots of wonderful bloggers and sitting in on inspirational seminars, I got a chance to check out the BlogHer Expo. The Expo was filled with companies introducing their products. Most were mommy-blogger oriented, but I found a few that really stuck out and wanted to share them with you.

Scotch Magic Greener Tape 

While tape might come to mind when you’re thinking of going green, Scotch is changing that perception with their Greener Tape which is made with plant-based adhesive and film. The refillable dispenser and tape core are both made of recycled plastic also. The best part – this version of the popular Scotch product makes the same iconic sound when you rip the tape, and it works and costs the same as the original.

Michael Angelo’s Natural Line 

I really like eating hot food for lunch and nothing is more convenient than a frozen meal. The taste of those meals usually leaves a lot to be desired. Now there’s Michael Angelo’s natural line. The frozen meals don’t contain any preservatives, and have all-natural ingredients, some of which are organic. I got to try a sample at the expo and thought it was pretty good. I don’t think I’d take one to work for lunch every day as the sodium is still a little high, but for days when I’m in a hurry, I’d love to have some of these meals in my freezer ready to go.

Coffee–Mate Natural Bliss Coffee Creamer 

I have to admit, I stopped by this booth more than once for a sample of this coffee creamer. I really liked the vanilla flavor and was impressed when I turned the package over and found that it was made with only four ingredients: Nonfat Milk, Heavy Cream, Sugar and natural flavor. Because it’s a real dairy product, you have to keep it refrigerated, but the creamy sweet taste is worth it.

Boiron’s Arnicare Gel and Oscillococcinum

The names might be hard to pronounce (Oscillococcinum?), but Boiron’s products are some of my favorites when it comes to relieving common ailments. I love that my local drugstore, Duane Reade, carries the brand and even before the expo, I had many of Boiron’s products in my medicine cabinet. They are all homeopathic, so I feel safe taking them. The Arnicare Gel contains arnica and is a topical cream used for muscle pain, bruising and swelling. I used it on sore legs one night and felt better pretty quickly. The Oscillococcinum is to ward off flu symptoms. I’ve had good luck with this remedy also – so much so that I have stared to look for the Bioron alternative to traditional brands when I’m buying OTC medicine.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ravingmadscientists
    Aug 25, 2011 @ 09:52:34

    Great post!!! Sounds like the conference was really informative!! I am SO getting those coffee creamers – I always feel awful because the nutrition facts on the regular ones suck. Nice to know there is an alternative!!

    Reply

  2. CV2
    Sep 12, 2011 @ 02:22:23

    Big thumbs up – thanks!

    Reply

  3. Department of Transport cameras
    Sep 15, 2011 @ 10:28:49

    Nice post. Thanks for sharing.

    Reply

  4. The Zuma
    Sep 17, 2011 @ 00:29:14

    Great post. Thanks.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 6 other followers

More Method Wellness

